Select Page

Äshäw (Elders) Senate

Elders Senate - Elders GA at Champagne June 2008.png

Elders Senate – Elders GA at Champagne June 2008.png

The Äshäw (Elders) Senate is made up of all CAFN Citizens age 60 and over. The Senate meets a minimum of twice a year to provide their wisdom to help guide the CAFN government.

Historically, Elders have been the keepers of traditional knowledge including the Aduli laws and teachings or lessons passed down from one generation to the next through oral storytelling. In addition, Elders play a key role in ensuring the Southern Tutchone language is shared with the Champagne and Aishihik children of today.

The Elders Senate Executive (also called Elders Executive) is made up of a smaller group that helps carry out the work of the Senate.

Current Elders Senate Executive members are:

  • Dayle MacDonald – Chair
  • Lena Smith-Tutin
  • Lorraine Stick
  • Sharon Shadow
  • Vera Owlchild

Elder Senate Rules for Procedure (PDF)

Elders Senate contact person:

Lilly Smith
(867) 634-4204 or

Job Opportunities