Select Page


Shadhäla, Äshèyi yè kwädǟn (Champagne and Aishihik First Nations) 


The Shadhäla, Äshèyi yè kwädǟn (Champagne and Aishihik First Nations) Final and Self-Government Agreements are modern-day treaties between the Champagne and Aishihik government and the governments of Canada and of Yukon. They are given legal effect by the Constitution of Canada and territorial legislation and confirm CAFN’s right to govern its people, lands and resources.

Branches of Government

Led by its Council, the CAFN government deals with other governments (such as Canada and Yukon) on a government-to-government basis. The CAFN government has law-making authority and responsibilities equivalent to those at territorial and federal levels, with paramount jurisdiction in many areas. The CAFN government has many forms of Citizen involvement and accountability.

The CAFN Constitution identifies the four branches of government:

CAFN Citizens participate as delegates in the annual General Assembly. Citizens also have opportunity to serve on many boards and committees to represent CAFN’s interests.



Job Opportunities